The Excellence in Collaboration Award is new and the nomination form is open!  This award was developed to specifically recognize and celebrate excellence in collaboration between Luther College and the community of Decorah, Iowa. The award will be presented to an individual or team that has demonstrated successful cooperation, collaboration, or innovation to positively impact the quality of life for the campus and community. The recipient may have worked on a specific project, event, effort, or initiative that ultimately benefits campus life, community vibrancy,  health and wellness, open communication, or the local economy.

Individuals, businesses, organizations, and college departments/teams are all eligible. There is no cost to nominate and self-nomination is allowed. The award recipient will be recognized in a press release from Luther College, in a press release from the Decorah Area Chamber, and in person as part of the Annual January Luncheon event. The nomination form is available on the Decorah Area Chamber of Commerce website. Each year one award will be given, with the inaugural award being presented at the Annual January Luncheon on January 22nd, 2024. The award nomination form is open from June 8th, 2023 to December 1st, 2023. In November, the Award Committee will meet to select the award recipient. Awardees are notified in December to ensure attendance at the formal Award Presentation taking place as part of the Annual January Luncheon event on January 22nd.

Excellence in Collaboration Award Selection Committee includes representation from both the Decorah Area Chamber and Luther College as well as area partners:
Luther College: VP of Development Mary Duvall, Chief Equity and Inclusion Officer Dr. Robert Clay, Development Office Coordinator Shelley Hurst
Decorah Area Chamber: Executive Director Jessica Rilling, Board President Sara Thomas
Winneshiek County Development & Tourism: Executive Director Stephanie Fromm
United Way of Winneshiek County: Board Past President Ashley Baker
Downtown Decorah Betterment Association: Board Director Matt Burkey
City of Decorah: Mayor Lorraine Borowski

For questions about the award or the 2024 January Luncheon, please contact Executive Director for the Decorah Area Chamber Jessica Rilling.